GENESEE COUNTY COMMUNICATIONS CONSORTIUM Special General Membership Board Meeting

Genesee County 9-1-1 April 11, 2023 2:00 pm

Location: <u>Harris Auditorium, Genesee County Admin Building</u> <u>1101 Beach Street, Flint 48502</u>

MINUTES

1. CALL TO ORDER

Meeting called to order by Chairman Thorsby at 2:03 pm.

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

3. ATTENDANCE ROLL CALL

No quorum during initial Roll Call.

Meeting went to recess at 2:07 pm. General Membership Board requires one additional Member to arrive to hold the meeting before the scheduled Executive Board meeting begins at 2:30 pm.

Members Present: Thomas Spillane, Clayton Township; Jim Slezak, Davison Township; Karyn Miller, Flint Township; Fred Thorsby, Flushing Township; Mary Ann Price, Forest Township; Paul Fortino, Gaines Township; Dan Eashoo, Genesee Township; Scott Bennett, Grand Blanc Township; Tonya Ketzler, Mundy Township; Sheryllynn Russo, Vienna Township; Greg Fenner, Burton City; Andrea Schroeder, Davison City; Joseph Karlichek, Flushing City; Wendy Jean-Buhrer, Grand Blanc City; Ellen Glass, Linden City; Vicki Corlew, Mt. Morris City;

Michelle Davis, Genesee County arrived at 2:28 pm.

Arrived after second roll call, Katie Vick, Atlas Township

Members Absent: Brian Saad, Argentine Township; Vince Lorraine, Fenton Township; Mark Emmendorfer, Montrose Township; Jolena Sanders-Sims, Mt Morris Township; Brian Arnes, Richfield Township; Rachel Stanke, Thetford Township; Doug Vance, Clio City; Clyde Edwards, Flint City; Thomas Bigelow, Montrose City; Adam Zettel, Swartz Creek City; Connie Greene, Gaines Village; Sheri Wilkerson, Goodrich Village; John Ray, Otisville Village

Others Present: Yvonne Brantley, Cierra Allen, Sarah Digard, Alex Boros, Brittney Unrath, Dan Eickholt, Randi Cornack, Kirstie Parks, Carol Jensen, Andrea Yambrick,

Ashley Smith, Jacob Reitano, Matthew Hoffman, Maria McGuckin, Ryan Volz, Julie Bigelow, Sarah Appling, Jessica Young, Bob Kachline, Brian Flewelling, Jennifer Campbell, James Young, Colleen Eickholt, Anthony Chubb, Tim Jones, Dave Plumb, Valerie Moore-recorder

Thorsby re-convened the meeting at 2:29 pm, with a quorum after Michelle Davis arrived.

Jones would like to add an item to the Agenda for an Award presentation by Commissioner Ellen Ellenburg.

Action Taken: Motion by Slezak, support by Fenner to approve agenda with amendment to include item '*4. Award Presentation*'. 16 Ayes, 1 No, Motion Passed

4. AWARD PRESENTATION

Commissioner Ellenburg

Commissioner Ellenburg recognized and presented a Proclamation to the Genesee County 911 Dispatchers and Supervisors.

5. SUPERVISORS LOU

Thorsby/Chubb

Thorsby presented the final Letter of Understanding for the Union Supervisors which includes a raise in the wage scale, a one-time stipend, and a monthly incentive payment for not calling off sick. This LOU will run through the remainder of the current CBA, which expires on September 30, 2025.

Action Taken: Motion by Slezak, support by Schroeder to accept the Supervisors LOU as presented.

Katie Vick, Atlas Township representative arrived.

Discussion took place on the length of the contract remaining, how the increased amount will affect the budget, how much overtime is still being worked, and an update on new employees to help with staffing shortage.

Miller noted she is not in favor of this LOU for two reasons, first; I do not feel the starting wages should be higher than that of our police officers, and secondly, I am not in favor of making changes in the middle of a contract.

Roll Call Vote: Vick Aye

0.11	•	
Spillane	Aye	
Slezak	Aye	
Miller	No	
Thorsby	Aye	
Price	Aye	
Fortino	Aye	
Eashoo	Aye	
Bennett	Aye	
Ketzler	Aye	
Russo	Aye	
Fenner	Aye	
Schroeder	Aye	
Karlichek	Aye	
Jean-Buhrer	Aye	
Glass	Aye	
Corlew	Aye	
Davis	Aye	
17 Ayes, 1 No, Motion Passed		

6. TELECOMMUNICATOR LOU

Thorsby/Chubb

Chubb presented the final Letter of Understanding for the Union Dispatchers which contains the same changes as the Supervisors LOU. This includes a raise in the wage scale, a one-time stipend of \$3,000 or \$6,000 based on length of service, an incentive payment for not calling off sick the previous month, also included is the option for any sick time above 144 hours at the end of the year to be paid out, or to be contributed to a 457 account. The Dispatchers LOU will run through the remainder of the current CBA, which expires on September 30, 2026.

Action Taken: Motion by Ketzler, support by Karlichek to accept the Dispatcher LOU as presented.

Miller noted for the same reasons stated previously, I am not in favor of this LOU either. She also noted we don't have a projected budget to see how this change will affect us over the next few years.

Roll Call Vote:

Vick	Aye
Spillane	Aye
Slezak	Aye
Miller	No
Thorsby	Aye
Price	Aye

Fortino	Aye	
Eashoo	Ауе	
Bennett	Aye	
Ketzler	Aye	
Russo	Aye	
Fenner	Aye	
Schroeder	Aye	
Karlichek	Aye	
Jean-Buhrer	Aye	
Glass	Aye	
Corlew	Aye	
Davis	Aye	
17 Ayes, 1 No, Motion Passed		

7. NON-UNION EMPLOYEE RESOLUTION Thorsby

Thorsby/Chubb

Chubb stated that the previous Chairman, Emmendorfer had requested this resolution to be drafted to provide the same one-time bonus for the non-union represented employees as listed, Moore, Shook and Wambold, all of which have over three years of service.

Action Taken: Motion by Slezak, support by Fenner to approve the resolution with an amendment to include Tim Jones and Dave Plumb.

Roll Call Vote:

Vick	Aye
Spillane	Aye
Slezak	Aye
Miller	No
Thorsby	Aye
Price	Aye
Fortino	Aye
Eashoo	Aye
Bennett	Aye
Ketzler	Aye
Russo	Aye
Fenner	Aye
Schroeder	Aye
Karlichek	Aye
Jean-Buhrer	Aye
Glass	No
Corlew	Aye

8. LETTER FROM EMMENDORFER

Thorsby/Chubb

Thorsby referenced the letter Emmendorfer sent announcing his resignation from the Executive Board.

Action Taken: Motion by Glass, support by Eashoo to accept the resignation of Emmendorfer from the Executive Board.

17 Ayes, 1 No, Motion Passed

a. EXECUTIVE BOARD POSITION ELECTION

Thorsby stated we will be accepting nominations for a Township official to fill the Executive Board vacancy.

Thorsby opened the floor to nominations.

Vince Lorrain, Scott Bennett, and Dan Eashoo were all nominated by Members.

Thorsby closed the floor to nominations.

Roll Call voting conducted.

Results of the vote; 8 votes for Scott Bennett, 6 votes for Dan Eashoo, and 4 votes Vince Lorraine.

Scott Bennett is elected to the Executive Board.

Thorsby opened the floor for Public Comments

POLC Union President on behalf of himself and the Union staff express their gratitude for the Boards support of this LOU, and the staff at our 911 center.

Karlichek addressed the Board and attendees regarding the importance of regular meeting attendance to reach our quorum and hold meetings on a regular basis, and the number of individuals that are not in attendance.

Miller asked if there could be a reminder for members that are not here, how important it is for all our Consortium members to be here for our meetings.

9. ADJOURNMENT

Action Taken: Motion by Slezak, support by Fenner to adjourn the meeting. All Ayes, Motion Passes

Meeting adjourned by Chairman Thorsby at 3:24 pm.